In memoriam for Dennis O’Driscoll

In memoriam for Dennis O’Driscoll, the wonderful Irish poet and critic. A noble humanist. (b. 1 January, 1954 – d. December 23, 2012). Thanks to Ellen Hinsey for the excerpt and the photo.
 
From “Tomorrow” by Dennis O’Driscoll:

I
Tomorrow I will start to be happy.
The morning will light up like a celebratory cigar.
Sunbeams sprawling on the lawn will set
dew sparkling like a cut-glass tumbler of champagne.
Today will end the worst phase of my life.


I will put my shapeless days behind me,
fencing off the past, as a golden rind
of sand parts slipshod sea from solid land.
It is tomorrow I want to look back on, not today.
Tomorrow I start to be happy; today is almost yesterday.
4259270-3x2-600x400
Leave a Reply

